By-law No. 2022-117

A By-law to appoint a member of Council to act in place of the Mayor during the absence of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor

WHEREAS section 242 of *The Municipal Act, 2001*, provides that a municipality may, by by-law, appoint a member of the council to act in the place of the head of council or other member of council designated to preside at meetings in the municipality's procedure by-law when the head of council or designated member is absent or refuses to act or the office is vacant, and while so acting such member has all the powers and duties of the head of council or designated meetings; and

WHEREAS the Council of The Corporation of the City of Owen Sound (the "City") deems it necessary and expedient to appoint a member of Council to act in the place of the Mayor where the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are absent, refuse to act or the offices are vacant, for the purpose of attending meetings, functions and other activities; and

WHEREAS on December 12, 2022, City Council passed a resolution directing staff to bring forward a by-law to appoint Council members as Acting Mayors as outlined in staff report CR-22-102;

NOW THEREFORE THE COUNCIL OF THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF OWEN SOUND HEREBY ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. Where the Mayor is absent or refuses to act or the office of Mayor is vacant, the Deputy Mayor may act as the Mayor and while so acting, has all the powers and duties of the Mayor.
- 2. Where the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are absent or refuse to act, or the office of Mayor and Deputy Mayor are vacant, the following members of Council are appointed to act as Mayor during the time indicated next to their name, and while acting as Mayor, the Councillor shall have all the powers and duties of the Mayor and shall be referred to as the "Acting Mayor":

2022		
Councillor T. Dodd	December 2022	
2023		
Councillor J. Farmer	January 2023	
Councillor B. Hamley	February 2023	
Councillor M. Koepke	March 2023	
Councillor S. Kukreja	April 2023	
Councillor C. Merton	May 2023	
Councillor M. Middlebro'	June 2023	
Councillor T. Dodd	July 2023	
Councillor J. Farmer	August 2023	

Councillor B. Hamley	September 2023	
Councillor M. Koepke	October 2023	
Councillor S. Kukreja	November 2023	
Councillor C. Merton	December 2023	
2024		
Councillor M. Middlebro'	January 2024	
Councillor T. Dodd	February 2024	
Councillor J. Farmer	March 2024	
Councillor B. Hamley	April 2024	
Councillor M. Koepke	May 2024	
Councillor S. Kukreja	June 2024	
Councillor C. Merton	July 2024	
Councillor M. Middlebro'	August 2024	
Councillor T. Dodd	September 2024	
Councillor J. Farmer	October 2024	
Councillor B. Hamley	November 2024	
Councillor M. Koepke	December 2024	
2025		
Councillor S. Kukreja	January 2025	
Councillor C. Merton	February 2025	
Councillor M. Middlebro'	March 2025	
Councillor T. Dodd	April 2025	
Councillor J. Farmer	May 2025	
Councillor B. Hamley	June 2025	
Councillor M. Koepke	July 2025	
Councillor S. Kukreja	August 2025	
Councillor C. Merton	September 2025	
Councillor M. Middlebro'	October 2025	
Councillor T. Dodd	November 2025	
Councillor J. Farmer	December 2025	
2026		
Councillor B. Hamley	January 2026	
Councillor M. Koepke	February 2026	
Councillor S. Kukreja	March 2026	
Councillor C. Merton	April 2026	

Councillor M. Middlebro'	May 2026
Councillor T. Dodd	June 2026
Councillor J. Farmer	July 2026
Councillor B. Hamley	August 2026
Councillor M. Koepke	September 2026
Councillor S. Kukreja	October 2026
Councillor C. Merton	November 2026

- 3. Where a Councillor appointed as Acting Mayor is unavailable or unable to fulfil the duties of Mayor, the next Councillor alphabetically will be called upon to take the place of the Acting Mayor.
- 4. This by-law shall come into full force and effect on the date it is passed.

FINALLY PASSED AND ENACTED this 12th day of December 2022.

Signature on file

Mayor Ian C. Boddy

Signature on file

Briana M. Bloomfield, City Clerk