You are here

Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame

The Owen Sound Sports Hall of FameOwen Sound Hall of Fame Wall

Formed in 1981 by the Ramoca Shrine Club and the Knights of Columbus, the Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to the people who have participated in local sports, either as participants or as builders.

In 1984 the City Parks and Recreation Committee stated its support for the continuation of the Hall, and in 2004 the Owen Sound Sports Hall of Fame underwent a major renovation.

Elections and inductions are held to honour new inductees every two years.

Past inductees include: The Owen Sound Mercurys, winners of the 1951 Allan Cup; The Owen Sound Greys, winners of the memorial cup in 1924 and 1927; The Owen Sound North Stars, winners in 1979, 1980 and 1989 of the President’s Cup, which is symbolic of the Canadian Lacrosse Associations Senior ‘B’ Championship; the Bond Purple Raiders, winners of the 1957 Ontario Basketball League Championship; Stanley Cup winner Harry Lumley and many other groups and individuals that have contributed to sport in Owen Sound.

Nominations for the 2016 Induction Ceremony will be accepted starting September, 2015. 

2015 Nominations Deadline – Extended to January 29, 2016

Watch for details as they become available.

2014 Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Athletes: Bill Burlington, Paul Thornley, Jamie Grimoldby, Blaine Courtney, Al Hutchinson, Deborah Killing
  • Builders: Andy Vandolder and Sharon McKeachnie
  • Teams: 1987 Bantam Boys Bowling Team and 1989 Junior Boys Bowling Team
  • Special Merit: Ted Reid


1924 Owen Sound Greys

1924 Owen Sound Greys Team Photo

1950 Owen Sound Mercury's

1950 Owen SoundMurcury's Team Photo










1979  North Stars

1979 North Stars









1980  North Stars

1980 North Stars

1989 North Stars

1989 North Stars


Website by the City of Owen Sound | Website Policy